Member of Tentamus - Visit Tentamus.com
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Labelling tips for the World Vegan Day

Labelling tips for the World Vegan Day

Today on November 1, the World Vegan Day is celebrated, which has taken place annually since 1994. The number of vegans is increasing worldwide every year. The sales of vegetable meat replacement products are estimated to have doubled within the last five years in the EU.

 

Labelling of vegan food

 

Vegan products also fall under the Food Information Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011 and must comply with the labelling regulations.

A bill has been submitted to the EU Parliament according to which vegetable meat replacement products should no longer have designations that are presumed to be animal. It was proposed that these products should no longer be called “steak”, “sausage”, “burger” etc. The bill was rejected on November 23, 2020, thereby the products may continue to be labelled in this manner. Accordingly, “tofu sausage”, “soya steaks” and “lentil burgers” will still be found on the supermarket shelves in the future.

The reason for the decision is that consumers are not expected to be confused by these designations.

There is a difference with milk!

 

The legal situation is a little different with milk. It was decided in 2017 that only products of animal origin may be labelled as “milk”. This also applies to dairy products such as butter, cheese and yoghurt. For example, the designation “almond milk” is not permitted. However, there are a few exceptions, such as coconut milk and peanut butter.

bilacon supports you with the correct labelling of vegan products

 

bilacon has an international labelling team that can help you with all questions concerning the labelling of vegan products.

 

If you have any questions about our service, please contact us. Our expert will be happy to help you

 

Stefanie Hirsch
+49 (0) 30 206 038 170
labelling@tentamus.com

Tentamus laboratories in your vicinity